News & Events

National Symbols of India

national symbols of india

India, also known as Bhārat, is a beautiful country in South Asia, known for its diverse and rich culture and heritage. It is home to modern cities, ancient temples, and tranquil villages. The country is between the great Himalayas in the North and the Indian Ocean in the South. India’s history spans thousands of years and has been influenced by various civilizations, religions, and traditions.

All of these have contributed to its vibrant languages, cuisines, and customs. Every nook and corner of the country has a story to tell, every monument echoes a tale of bygone eras, and every festival celebrates unity in diversity. In this detailed guide, we will delve deep into the national symbols of this incredible land that every Indian takes immense pride in showcasing to the world.

National Symbols of India

There are 16 national symbols of India, each representing a unique aspect of the country’s identity and heritage. See the table for the list of National Symbols of India:

S. NoTitleNational Symbol
1.National FlagTiranga
2.National EmblemNational Emblem of India
National Symbols Related to Governance and Identity
3.National CurrencyIndian Rupees
4.National CalendarSaka Calendar
5.Oath of AllegianceNational Pledge
National Symbols Related to Nature and Wildlife
6.National Heritage AnimalIndian Elephant
7.National AnimalRoyal Bengal Tiger
8.National BirdIndian Peacock
9.National TreeIndian Banyan
10.National Aquatic AnimalGanges River Dolphin
11.National RiverGanga
National Symbols Related to Food and Agriculture
12.National VegetablePumpkin
13.National FruitMango
National Symbols Related to Culture and Patriotism
14.National AnthemJana Gana Mana
15.National SongVande Mataram
National Symbols Related to Spiritual and Cultural Significance
16.National FlowerLotus

Though there are more than sixteen National Symbols of India, we will only discuss the four most significant symbols in–depth, including National Flag, National Emblem, National Anthem and National Currency. Here is what you all need to know about the most important symbols of India:

National Flag - Tiranga

The Indian National Flag, known as Tiranga, comprises three equal horizontal stripes: saffron (Kesaria), white, and green. In the center lies the Ashoka Chakra, representing progress, a navy blue wheel. The saffron colour of the flag represents courage, white symbolizes truth, and green signifies faith. Here are some interesting facts about Tiranga (the Indian National Flag):

  • The Ashoka Chakra in the middle of the flag has 24 spokes.
  • It was adopted on July 22, 1947, before Independence.
  • Pingali Venkayya designed the Indian National Flag.
  • The flag’s width-to-length ratio is two to three.

National Emblem - National Emblem of India

The Indian National Emblem originates from Sarnath, the Lion Capital of Ashoka. Satyameva Jayate, which means "Truth Alone Triumphs," is written on it. The National Emblem is used on official documents, government buildings, and National Currency. Here are some facts about the National Emblem:

  • It was adopted on January 26, 1950.
  • The emblem has a wheel (dharma chakra) in the center.
  • The National Emblem of India features the Lion Capital of Ashoka.
  • Satyameva Jayate (Truth Alone Triumphs) is the motto of the National Emblem.

The use and reproduction of the National Emblem are governed by the State Emblem of India (Prohibition of Improper Use) Act, 2005, which protects its integrity and sanctity.

Also Read, 12 Astounding facts about Mahatama Gandhi

National Anthem - Jana Gana Mana

Rabindranath Tagore composed the Indian National Anthem. It was sung for the first time on December 27, 1911, during the Indian National Congress session in Calcutta. On January 24, 1950, it was adopted as the National Anthem by the Constituent Assembly of India. The lyrics of the National Anthem celebrate India’s diversity and unity, symbolizing the nation’s rich cultural heritage.

Some interesting facts about Jana Gana Mana:

  • The National Anthem was composed by Rabindranath Tagore, a renowned poet and musician.
  • It is customary for the people of India to stand in attention when the National Anthem is played or sung.
  • Jana Gana Mana was first sung on December 27, 1911, and adopted as the National Anthem on January 24, 1950.
  • The National Anthem was originally written in Bengali, and it has versions in other languages, including Hindi and English, accommodating India’s linguistic diversity.

National Currency - Indian Rupees

Indian Rupees is the National Currency of India that is symbolized as ₹ and boasts a rich history dating back to ancient times. It has been issued by the Reserve Bank of India since 1935 and comes in denominations from ₹1 to ₹500, comprising coins and banknotes. In 2016, ₹2000 notes were introduced by the government, but they were later withdrawn in 2023. Here are some interesting and important facts about the Indian National Currency:

  • The symbol for the Indian currency (₹) was officially adopted in 2010.
  • The Rupee is available in various denominations, including coins and banknotes, ranging from ₹1 to ₹500.
  • The Reserve Bank of India, established in 1935, is responsible for issuing and regulating the Indian Rupee.
  • Indian Rupee banknotes have several security features to prevent counterfeiting, including microprinting, security threads, and watermarks.

Final Verdict

India has more than sixteen national symbols, each representing a distinct aspect of the country’s identity and heritage. The list of all sixteen national symbols is provided above. Some of the most significant National Symbols, such as the National Flag, National Emblem, National Anthem, and National Currency, are explained in detail in this blog.